- 5. Obtaining the concealed carry permit.
In order to obtain a permit the citizen must apply to the Sheriffs Office within their county of residence. The Sheriff shall issue a permit to an applicant if the applicant qualifies under the following criteria according to North Carolina General Statute 14-415.12.
- The applicant is a citizen of the United States and has been a resident of the State of North Carolina 30 days or longer immediately preceding the filing of the concealed carry application. Proof of citizenship should be brought to the Sheriffs Office.
- The applicant is 21 years of age or older
- The applicant does not suffer from any mental infirmity that prevents safe handling of a handgun.
- The applicant has successfully completed a Concealed Carry training course that has been approved by the N.C. Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission, and whose instructor is certified by this same Commission as a Concealed Carry — Handgun Instructor. The applicant must submit the original certificate issued from the course to the Sheriff’s Office as part of the application process.
- The applicant is eligible to own or possess or receive a firearm under the provisions of state or federal law.
- The applicant is not under indictment or against whom a finding of probable cause exist for a felony.
- The applicant has not been adjudicated guilty of a felony.
- The applicant is not a fugitive from justice.
- The applicant is not an unlawful user, or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant, or narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance as defined in 21 USC § 802.
- The applicant is not currently or has been previously adjudicated by a court or administratively determined by a governmental agency whose decisions are subject to judicial review to be, lacking mental capacity or mentally ill. Consultative services or outpatient treatment alone shall not disqualify an applicant.
- The applicant has not been discharged from the armed forces under less than honorable conditions.
- The applicant has not been adjudicated guilty of or received a prayer for judgment continued or suspended sentence for one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor under Article 8 of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes or a violation of any of the following misdemeanors:
- 14-225.2: Harassment of and communication with jurors.
14-226.1: Violating orders of court.
14-258.1: Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons, cartridges, ammunition or alcoholic beverages to inmates of charitable, mental or penal institutions or local confinement facilities.
14-269.2: Weapons on campus or other educational property.
14-269.3: Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed
14-269.4: Weapons on State property and in courthouses
14-269.6: Possession and sale of spring-loaded projectile knives prohibited.
14-276.1: Impersonation of firemen or emergency medical services personnel.
14-277: impersonation of a law-enforcement or other public officer.
14-277.1: Communicating threats.
14-277.2: Weapons at parades, etc., prohibited.
14-281.1: Throwing, dropping, etc., objects at sporting events.
14-283: Exploding dynamite cartridges and bombs.
14-288.2: Riot, inciting to riot, punishments.
14-288.4(a)(1) or (2): disorderly conduct.
14-288.6: Looting; trespass during emergency.
14-288.9: Assault on emergency personnel, punishments.
14-288.12: Powers of municipalities to enact ordinances to deal with states of emergency.
14-288.13: Powers of counties to enact ordinances to deal with states of emergencies
14-288.14: Power of chairman of board of county commissioners to extend emergency restrictions imposed in municipality.
14-3 18.2: Child Abuse a Class I misdemeanor.
14-415.21(b): Carrying a concealed handgun without the permit in the person’s possession or fails to disclose to a law enforcement officer that they have a permit and are carrying a handgun.
- The applicant does not have a prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would disqualify the person from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.
- The person is not free on bond or personal recognizance pending trail, appeal, or sentencing for a crime which would disqualify him/her from obtaining a concealed handgun permit.
- The applicant has not been convicted of an impaired driving offense under any of the following General Statutes with the three years prior to the date on which the application is submitted:
- 20-138.1: Impaired driving.
20-138.2: Impaired driving in commercial vehicle.
20-138.3: Driving by person less than 21 years old after consuming alcohol or drugs.
- 6. Reciprocity
Effective August 14, 2003, North Carolina law allows residents of other states who have a Concealed Carry Handgun Permit issued by their state to carry concealed handguns in North Carolina if the person’s state also grants the same privilege to North Carolinians.
To obtain a current list of those states with reciprocity agreements with North Carolina go to the N.C. Department of Justice website, www.ncdoj.com. Click on Crime & Law Enforcement and a drop down menu will appear. Click on Concealed Handguns and this will direct you to the latest information on those states that allow North Carolinians to carry concealed. Remember that while traveling in other states, you are subject to the laws of that state so please be aware that the use of deadly force laws may be different as well as those places where carrying concealed is prohibited. Consider contacting the Attorney General’s Office of the state in which you will be traveling for the current laws of that state.